Springtime Farmer’s Market Shopping

Tulips at Temescal Farmer's Market
There is such an amazing rush when you walk through a farmer’s market and realize it’s really spring. That’s what happened when I walked by these tulips at the Temescal Market in Oakland last Sunday. It’s also a great time to buy produce for preserving!

Raw Materials for Jardiniere Pickles
I am constantly inspired by the produce I run into at the markets. I wanted to share a few pics from last weekend’s trips to the Saturday Grand Lake Farmer’s Market and the Sunday Temescal market, both in Oakland.

Raw Materials for Jardiniere Pickles
Asparagus for my Jardeniere Pickles

Raw Materials for Jardiniere Pickles
Beets go in too!

Raw Materials for Jardiniere Pickles
And don’t forget the carrots!

I source most of my produce for jams and pickles from these markets throughout the year. As for other sources, I always love to pick from local trees when I can get access, like the older woman in my neighborhood who has 3 lovely greengage plum trees, or my next-door neighbor who is always willing to share her bounty of Meyer lemons. For the occasional hard to find item, plus other staples like vinegar, salt, and organic evaporated cane juice, Berkeley Bowl (either one) is my go-to spot.

Where do you love to shop in the Bay Area?

One response to “Springtime Farmer’s Market Shopping

  1. I love farmer’s markets and the ones in Miami are really bad… you’re so lucky to have them in your area!

Leave a Reply

