The Underground Market

Wow! What a week it’s been! Last Thursday, I had the privilege of being a vendor at the second ever Underground Farmer’s Market, put on by Forage SF. After starting this little business last year, I had never imagined being able to sell at a market like this. I had checked with my local farmer’s market and even a few craft fairs, and was told that I couldn’t sell my homemade items at events like that. When Iso mentioned the idea of the market last fall, I was thrilled and starting preparing!

For my first market, I had no idea what to expect. First, I was amazed at the number of people who came through the market–easily 500. I so appreciated the chance to get feedback in person from of all of the people I met who tasted my jams and pickles. Your reactions when sampling all of the different flavors were the best part, and it felt great that you all liked my offerings enough to invest your money! I also loved chatting with all of the other vendors, as their own passion for homemade foods was readily evident.

I’m now working on developing some new flavors for the next market. I heard from spicy jam-lovers and advocates of agave instead of sugar, so look for both of those at the next market! I’ll also be replenishing my supply of favorites that sold out, including the plum balsamic rosemary.

Please comment below if you have any suggestions! Thanks again for your support, and I look forward to seeing many of you at the next market.

Check out some media hits:
KQED’s This Week in Northern California
NBC Interview with Iso and market profile
KQED’s Bay Area Bites Blog

Leave a Reply

